CAL Updates

So I have two CALs in progress at the moment and I thought I would do a quick update on both of them.

I started the In A Spin CAL in November.  It is just one block a week, which I have really been enjoying, Thursdays are an exciting day for me now.  I am kind of wishing that I had decided to make this colorful instead of just pale green, but I am just going to have to live with that.  Worsted weight yarn and a 6mm hook, which is a little bigger than most of the other people in the CAL seem to be using, but I really like how quickly the blocks work up.  There is 6 inch, 8 inch and 12 inch blocks just waiting to be joined together.  I’m not sure how long this is going to go for, but really, I could have a block a week forever and be happy so that is all good.

003

Block 15

033

Block 16

The other CAL that I have just started can be found here

grab_banner_2013

This is my first time attempting overlay crochet and I am really enjoying it.  It is definately more decorative than anything else, but all the mandalas that people are making are amazing.  This CAL started last week and runs for 6 weeks but I have already finished 23 of 31 rounds.  I really just can’t put it down, I love seeing the huge change to the overall look that every round makes.

 024

Rounds 1 through 10

026

It is kind of hard to see but this is really thick.  Overlay crochet would make great hot pads….but if I did make one as a hot pad I would probably never use it because it would be way too pretty.

048

Up to round 20

044

It is starting to get pretty wavy and wonky, probbly because the grey yarn is bigger than all the other colors and that is kind of throwing everything off, but I am hoping I can block it flat.  Yarn details and whatnot on my Ravelry page here.

Who new that flourescent lighting and a white folding table would make a great light box?

Anyways, I am off to finish round 24 :) Have a great day everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

