A Blogpost in Black and White.

dreamcatcher

I was wandering around the grocery store this morning. By myself, which these days is a bit of a luxury. Anyways, being by myself I had time to ponder while I wandered and suddenly a realization hit me. The kind of realization that stops you in your tracks and a very nice elderly old man has to try to reach around you to get to his nutritional shake type drinks because you are standing there like a mong. I realized that I have become one of *those* people. The people who have a fully stocked pantry. The people who never run out of mustard because as soon as they put one bottle out they pick up a new one. The people who are prepared for an emergency.

camo hatted boys

Now I’m not saying that being a prepared type of person is a bad thing to be. Because it is actually a very good thing. And I have very good reasons to want to be prepared. It is just that I never saw myself as being one of those people. I get a certain comfort and sense of security from knowing that my pantry and freezer are full, that every year I do my best to preserve what I can. It is a nice to know that even if for whatever reason we aren’t able to purchase groceries, we don’t have to. We have what we need to last us quite a while. And right now if something comes on sale I will keep stocking up. Especially on Cadbury Mini Eggs. They are on the shelves right now you know, we are on our third bag :)

dog in gray

I like knowing that I have my crafty skills. I know that if push comes to shove I can crochet a blanket, knit a sweater or sew a pair of pants. I also have a rather large stockpile of the materials needed to do these things. Plus I like to do it, and I love to see my family decked out in handmade or wrapped up in one of my blankets. And I like pretty decorative things, because who doesn’t.

cat in gray

It also bothers me that I have one area where I know that I definitely lack the skills that I want to have, which is gardening. I am working on it though. This year I am planning to start with some small steps. Last year I was all about going big with the garden and it really didn’t work for me. At all. It was a pretty spectacular fail.

cookies

So what are you? Are you all out prepared for the end of civilization as we know it? Or do you go about your day, buying only what you need? Is it a space thing? If you have enough room to start collecting food do you just do it because you can? Is it something to do with small children and never wanting them to go without? Or is it just something you do for no reason? Is having too much something to be avoided? I really want to know because this seems to be this totally unexpected trait that I have found in myself and I am curious.

driftwood

I have watched/listened to Frozen about 4 times in the last 24 hours. Who knew boys would like it so much too, I mostly bought it for myself.

Tonight dinner menu is ham, scalloped potatoes and caesar salad. Yum!

Still working away on joining Raidens blanket.

There is mud EVERYWHERE and today was not a good day to wear new shoes.

I have a giant pile of denim waiting to be cut up into squares and I can’t wait to dig into it, but I seem to have misplaces my quilting ruler. Have you seen it?

Alexis, your package is on its way.

Banana-oat-chocolate chip-fruit cookies. Need I say more? 3 bananas from the freezer used up!

Don’t look to closely at this next picture or you will see evidence of my terrible photoshop skills.

colors in the yard copy

2 comments

  1. Really? It looks pretty great to me! An unexpected pop of colour, great way to end your post :) My mum was a great storer of food, because we lived a long way from the nearest supermarket. I live 10 mins walk from one but still maintain a pretty good pantry because I like to cook spontaneously. Knowing I have a good variety of pantry basics means I can always cook something, no matter how long it’s been since I bought groceries.

    1. Thanks :) we don’t live too far from the grocery store and there is a little convenience store close to us. Usually I realize that I don’t have any eggs after I have creamed the butter and sugar to make cookies or something like that.

Leave a Reply

